Austin to Boston: East Texas and The Bridge to NOLA

From the island in Texas to the bridge over the bayou, you’ll see a lot and learn even more.

We arrived Friday evening for a weekend in an Austin Air B&B. It was an “artist’s bungalow” in an amazing location, blocks from South Congress. We had a great weekend exploring the city and seeing the sights, which is my second favorite thing to do.

It was a 1930’s bungalow, with limited air conditioning, and a warm, humid night, so we quickly found the porch swing. Halfway through my last surviving Colorado beer (Grapefruit Yanker IPA), the sky opened up. Combined with the ceiling fan at the center of the porch, the storm created the perfect setting for talking and laughing the night away. It was awesome.

20170603_185729[1]

There are definitely moments in life that deserve recognition, and this was one.

In fact, I have learned this lesson before. During the time in my life where I was happiest, I noticed a consistent pattern. I found that when I payed attention, I started to notice more happy, noteworthy moments in my life.

Intentionally taking time to recognize the event made me feel good. All I had to do was pay attention to the moments and find the beauty.

It turns out that recognizing even one of these events will make your day better, and a few of them can make your day great. Eventually, these moments began to crowd out the negative ones, and I found myself enjoying them throughout the day.

I had one of those moments in Austin on that porch swing. I took several intentional seconds to linger in the feeling of that moment, and then I stepped outside in the rain to soak it in, literally and figuratively. I don’t know how many random decisions and conversations led me to this place, but I’m genuinely happy to be here, right now.

20170603_185629[1]

I need to do more of that, wherever I am.

We hit the road (“wheels down”) on Sunday and stayed overnight near Lake Conroe, north of Huston. The RV park there was very family oriented. There were kids everywhere; which is great if you have kids. So, maybe not my favorite place to stay, but definitely appealing to a very wide audience and worth a visit.

The main thing I’m going to remember about that park, however, is that there were 7 sets of washers/dryers for 360 campsites. If you do the math, someone has to be doing laundry every hour the laundry is open, seven days a week, for everyone to wash once a week. So, I sat, waiting for machines to become available for a couple of hours, in my “laundry day outfit.” Ugh.

We were wheels down around 5pm, after Danielle was done with work. Given the time, we decided to head east, through the countryside, skipping the freeway and Huston’s traffic.  That was a beautiful drive, and the countryside is completely different than the Northern Plains and central “Hill Country.”

In this part of Texas, the land is very flat, but with a much more consistent water supply than the north. The trees get much taller and the underbrush gets thicker, to the point that you’re totally surrounded. The only color variations are yellow and white lane striping, near-new black asphalt, and the ribbon of late-afternoon sky above. Everything else is a shade of green.

Trees line the highway through this entire section and run perfectly parallel to the road on both sides, for miles. They’re so hearty and dense that they act as a barrier. Don’t drive off the road because your car won’t survive, but the trees will.

I didn’t realize how big Texas was until driving across it. Interstate ten, which cuts through southern Texas all the way from Louisiana to New Mexico, is 880 miles long. The last exit before crossing into Louisiana was exit number 880. That means that on the highway, Texas is wider than California is tall. California is less than 800 miles, top to bottom, on interstate five.

Texas sign

Photo Credit: Unknown

In my opinion, Louisiana should have a sign at the border that says: “Louisiana – welcome to The Bridge State.” From the boarder, through Baton Rouge, to New Orleans is like one long bridge. There are some brief stretches on land but they’re few and far between.

The introduction to The Bridge State happens slowly at first. You pass over low-lying, short bridges that span sections of bayou. Then they make a statement…

Bridge

Photo credit: Unknown

The Calcasieu River Bridge, in Lake Charles, Louisiana, is the tallest bridge I’ve been on. Naturally, as soon as we stopped, I had to Google it. I found out that it’s considered dilapidated, dangerous, and some government agencies have even banned government vehicles on the other bridge.

I’m so happy that I didn’t know that while on top of the bridge (see, found some roses).

There was also a noteworthy point, before Baton Rouge. While on another bridge, we came to a construction zone where workers were running new wires, somewhere off the side of the bridge.

We were stacked in traffic for about 5 miles, bumper to bumper, in one lane. The moon was out, but it was overcast and periodically foggy. As we were sitting in traffic there, however, you could see more due to slow speeds and numerous headlights.

I was a little spooked by seeing that we were 20-30 feet off the water. At one point I could see a flash light illuminating one of the bridge-support pilings from below. I assume that it was someone out night fishing on bayou under the bridge.

When the moon did shine through a break in the clouds, it illuminated water as far as I could see. If it weren’t for that and the fishermen, my imagination would have told me that there was nothing below us. The bridge could have been spanning an infinite abyss for all I knew.

Driving in the dark can be creepy, especially if you have an over-active imagination. I got an eerie feeling thinking about the situation we were in. We were on a bridge, in The Bridge State, on a totally unfamiliar bridge, with an infinite abyss below.

If there was an accident, and someone went off the side of the bridge, they could end up disappearing into the abyss. Or, more realistically, the could end up upside down in the swamp with the snakes, alligators, and…night-fishermen.

I just realized that I think about car accidents a lot, which is probably a function of driving alone in the dark a lot. I wasn’t really alone of course. All of my traveling companions sleep as I drive into the wee hours of the morning. So, it’s just me and my geeky podcasts, which I’ll dive into at some point.

The last surprise came when we got off the freeway to make the final descent (surprise, from a bridge) down to dry land and the RV park. At this point, I have NO CLUE where we are, and I’m blindly following Google, who doesn’t know I’m towing a large trailer containing nearly everything we own.

We got off the freeway in an abandoned industrial neighborhood. Google says make a left, so I do. It was a really sketchy road. We had to cross a few sets of train tracks and a couple of flooded sections of road. I can just imagine that the flooded section is 50 feet deep and that we’ll sink, nose first, into the abyss.

Great, it’s The Bridge State, and there’s no bridge when I really need one.

There was a four-foot-high concrete seawall protecting the neighborhood below on the left side of the road, as we reluctantly pushed forward with Google’s reassurance. On the right were a long line of abandoned warehouses, yacht manufacturing, the signs said. It was like driving through a Law & Order set; you couldn’t have made it creepier if you tried.

But, nothing happened. Google, as always, was right, and we pulled into the RV park and met Leo, the night watchman. Leo was super friendly and talked with us for 20 minutes before letting us park. He said that he wasn’t supposed to let us in the gates because we were too late. Thankfully, Leo is a nice guy.

So, here we are, Pontchartrain Landing, in The Big Easy, and neither of us has been before. This is going to be fun.

More pics from Austin:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

